Blackberries Beware!

I got a new toy today.  There were a lot of jokes at the feed store about my new method for decapitating chickens, but in fact, this toy is a serious piece of equipment.  With this thing, I have a fighting chance of keeping the blackberries at bay.  Maybe even the hawthorns.

Meet my new Husqvarna 545 FX forestry saw.

002

Weighs about 18 lbs empty.  You should see the harness, it has it’s own instruction manual.  (well, kind of).  The harness will make this large cutter possible for me to use for longer periods.  It will handle blackberries, hawthorns, small trees, tall grass, and broom.  Not as entertaining as getting goats, which were highly recommended, but will do the job in my limited time off.

This is a thing of beauty.  I can’t wait to get going with it.

10 thoughts on “Blackberries Beware!

  1. Glad to see I’m not the only one who loves these kinds of toys! That is pretty spiffy – and the harness will make a HUGE difference. We have a Stihl version and I can haul that thing around a whole lot longer with the harness than I could without it and it certainly is more comfortable than a shoulder strap.
    Happy whacking!

  2. What would it do on Ivy? I’m trying to clear an area to put in some new fruit trees.

  3. Bill says:

    Jealous. There are plenty of places around here where that would come in handy. My string model doesn’t do well with blackberries. Just be sure to have your googles on when you send those thorny brambles flying about!

    • I just used it for the first time today. Took me a while to get it started, but once I did…wow. In 45 minutes, I had cut down a patch of blackberries that would take me a full day with just pruners. And yes, I wore goggles. 🙂 And ear defenders.

  4. Way more scary than goats but you can’t argue with 45 minutes from go to whoa!

  5. Yup. The goats would be quieter, but would need more fencing. The machine stays where I put it. I cut another patch in 30 spare minutes before work yesterday – very proud of myself, till I got to work, and my colleague had to brush all sorts of detritus out of my hair :).

  6. Deb Weyrich-Cody says:

    Awesome machine; but, for heaven’s sake watch out for rocks! I’ve heard some really nasty stories about flying blades… ):

Leave a Reply

