The Five Day Race

Monday (today) marked the beginning of a race with myself to get a set number of projects done by Friday.

Here’s what I have to accomplish to win the race:

1.  The Hen House – patch rat holes in the walls and floor, line the floor with chicken wire.  Patch the door (two major holes, not from rats, just because this thing is made from particle board.  Yes, I know).  Replace the fascia board or whatever it is on the top front of the house so that the rain doesn’t do more damage to the top edge of the wall than it already has.  Do the same on the back end.  Take out the old wooden nest boxes (they were functional but difficult to clean out, plus the birds kept roosting on top.  Anything I used to block them from doing that allowed the rats a free passageway).  Assemble and install the new metal nest boxes (new is relative, I bought them 2 years ago).  Patch and/or replace the wire where needed on what we call “the lobby”, the covered area the hens access from the house, and from which they then access one of 4 pasture runs.  Put some scratching material in the lobby (old straw).

thanksgiving &mid Oct work week 007 small

not shown is another big hole at the bottom of the door.

thanksgiving &mid Oct work week small 008

holes that need patching. At least I’ve finished cleaning…

2. Chicken Run – not the movie.  I have 70+ pullets (actually 3 are roosters) out in field pens right now, and the minute I’m done with this race, they have to come off the field.  They will need some pasture, but they’re flighty at this stage, so it’s got to have good fence.  Not one of my 4 pasture runs for the hen house has intact fencing.  It’s all full of holes, falling down, or actually missing (because I started working on it last year).  I need to get one run ready to go by the end of the race.  I can get the next ones done once the chickens are in the house.

3.  Garlic – prepare the bed, plant the seed, mulch, fence.  Sounds so simple put like that.

thanksgiving &mid Oct work week 009 small

The calendula mark one edge of the planned garlic bed.

4.  Potatoes – have GOT to be dug up, before they rot.  Only about 40 plants, but they have been low on the list for weeks, and they are on borrowed time.

thanksgiving &mid Oct work week 010 small

The potatoes only go as far as those tall reddish weed stalks.

5.  Put garden to bed – turn over, green manure.  Just one half, the other half has so much volunteer kale,which we’re enjoying, that I think I’ll leave it be.  Weeds are a cover crop, right?

Some challenges I face:  the weather.  Forecast is for rain all week.  In practice what it seems to be doing is raining most of the night, clearing for most of the day and drizzling at dusk.  If that changes, it will probably be to more rain.   Other aspects of life will continue and I will still be involved.  You know, meals, laundry, errands, driving kids places, etc.  You notice I have happily ditched house cleaning from the list for the week.

I have a few positives going from the start line – thanks to some stat time in lieu that I had to use up soon or lose, I have no off-farm work till Saturday. That’s 5 days free for farming (and family and laundry and errands…). Also, my elderly neighbour, a retired construction contractor, who feels he owes me some help due to my daily visits to keep his veg garden watered over the summer while he had a broken ankle, has offered his expertise, and will bring his own tools. Yes! I’m more than happy to accept his offer.   Also, I got a couple of hours of work done on Sunday – a jump start, and hubby cooked an awesome meal that day which provided leftovers for today, so no cooking needed on day one of the race.  What a great support team I have.

My reward if I win?  Dry secure housing for my layer flock.  Happy hens who won’t be confined in pasture pens anymore, but will also not be free ranging over in my neighbour’s flower garden, like the last batch. Eggs!    A year’s worth of garlic, redeemable next July.  A couple months worth of potatoes, good until the New Year (hopefully).  A feeling of accomplishment, and a chance to finally write new stuff on my whiteboard.

I’ll try to post my daily progress here – I’m pretty motivated by the impending weather and it’s likely effect on my birds in the field pen, but I figure the motivation of proving to all of you that I am actually getting stuff done will help keep me on the straight and narrow.  Wish me luck!

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Five Day Race

  1. That is a lot of to do on your to do list! A girl after my own heart…
    I’m rooting for you!!! I can feel the adrenaline pumping now.
    and thanks for reminding me I still have potatoes to dig! Better add that to my white board before I forget again.
    You go girl!

  2. Potatoes? Oh shoot! Me too….

  3. I wish you heaps of luck. There’s nothing so satisfying as crossing something off the list and the one you’ve drawn up is a good’un 🙂 I see your first day’s progress is already written up. I’ll catch up with it at coffee time…right now I have my own list to tackle (as the racket from the other end of the garden is keen to remind me of). Til then…

  4. I know, I love crossing things off the list. One of my kids erases them off the white board,because she likes to see the list getting reduced, but that way I don’t get the satisfaction of seeing all those crossed out lines…I know from your blog the kind of energy you throw into keeping the Union Homestead going, it was your recent work week when there was a school break that kind of inspired me to do this week.

  5. df says:

    I was AWOL from the blogosphere when you posted about your five day race, and I’m glad I took the time to come back and catch up with these recent posts. What a treat having those five days to really crack on with so many jobs that needed doing, it must have been amazing to be able to concentrate on them every day for a week. It looks as though you made tremendous progress, too (even getting those new nesting boxes put together!).

    So funny about the whiteboard, we’re big whiteboarders too. And I’m completely with you on the pleasure of seeing lines crossed out vs. items erased!

Leave a Reply

