Happy pigs

The pigs are now 12 weeks old and seem pretty happy with their lot in life – their only complaint probably would be that management is not serving dinner often enough.  They are getting fed twice a day:  hog feed mixed with water both times, plus in the morning they get an egg each, and any scraps I’ve saved.

Because of work, the bowls stay with the pigs all day, and when I get home, I give them a wash out and serve their dinner, which is just hog feed mixed with water.  After my own dinner or at shutting in time, I give the bowls a rinse out ready for the morning.

Today being Sunday, I was washing out the bowls mid afternoon, and had a little help, as you will see. I love these bowls by the way, and wish they’d been around when I was a kid looking after half a dozen horses.  They’re made of very heavy duty rubber, flexible but sturdy, and can really take a beating.

I’ll let Ham demonstrate:

pigs June 2013 010 pigs June 2013 011 pigs June 2013 012 pigs June 2013 013

Apparently they don’t work well for wallowing.

Just to give Bacon a chance to be in the picture, here they are working on their latest hole to China:

pigs June 2013 018

8 thoughts on “Happy pigs

  1. Yup. They need a wallow. We use a watering nipple on a hose fixed to a t-post. The pigs will wallow under that. My friend Darby Simpson suggests putting the t-post through a pallet so they don’t wallow the t-post out of the ground.

    Those bowls are good times. They eventually split though. We had a pig that would carry one around with him like a security blanket. We would put it down the hill, he would carry it up the hill when he went to bed.

    • There is a nipple waterer right beside where I was washing out the bowls – we attached a y valve so we could have a hose at the same point. I thought that’s where they would want to wallow, but apparently not – perhaps because it’s quite stony there. I poured water into the hole to China, and they played around with that for quite a while, so perhaps that will be the wallow. Thanks for the idea with the pallet, when we move them to a different patch that’s less stony, I might try that.

      That’s hilarious about the pig carrying the bowl up the hill…

  2. df says:

    Oh, they are looking super! Nothing like a good bowl to play with, as our dog would attest. A wallow in a hole bound for China sounds rather appealing for two little pigs! 🙂

    • I came home tonight to two very muddy pigs, and since the only visible mud is in the HTC…I think it must be the default wallow. The dog was very jealous of the pigs for a while, desperately wanting to be in the pen with them – till she got zapped by the fence. She won’t near them now.

  3. PetKid says:

    Maybe the pigs aren’t going to China, maybe they are going to a nicer place to live or the Caribbean so they can dig holes in the beach! Those bowls look indestrucktable! Reggie likes playing with his bowl. It’s noisy because it’s steel! 🙂

    • I’m glad the pigs bowls aren’t steel, that would be very noisy on their cement floor in their stall. I don’t actually know where the exact place would be on the other side of the globe from me, here on Vancouver Island – but the Caribbean is probably a closer bet than China. My pigs can get sunburns though, because they have pale skin, so I’d have to slather them in sunscreen if they went there…

Leave a Reply

