Reader Appreciation Award

I’ve been following another Canadian blog for a few months now – Wuppenif – where the topics frequently match my own interests; food, family, gardening, green living, and the like.

Just recently, to my suprise and delight, she nominated Sailors Small Farm for a Reader’s Appreciation Award!  Thanks, Wuppenif!

And if you’re curious about the name of her blog, go check it out, it’s a nice little story.  And aren’t you curious about Beets for Breakfast?

The rules for receiving this award

Just so I don’t miss anything out:

1. Provide a link and thank the blogger who nominated you for this award.

2. Answer 10 questions.

3. Nominate 10-12 blogs that you find a joy to read.

4. Provide links to these nominated blogs and kindly let the recipients know that they have been nominated.

5. Include the award logo within your blog post.

My Q&A

Your favourite colour? blue – blue jeans, hubby’s blue eyes, blue skies…
Your favourite animal? cat – I love their independence which can switch to soppy affection if they choose.
Your favourite non-alcoholic drink? Tea – orange pekoe
Facebook or Twitter? Facebook.  I don’t get the point of Twitter.
Your favourite pattern? Umm??  Plaid – I have Scottish ancestors.  Or maybe you’re asking about life patterns?  I used to love the bathbookbed routine when the kids were very small. A decade ago.
Do you prefer getting or giving presents? Giving.  Homemade.
Your favourite number? seven
Your favourite day of the week? Sunday.  It’s the only day when I have the same day off as the girls, and sometimes even my husband.
Your favourite flower? Daffodil.  I’m half Welsh.
What is your passion? stewardship of the land we’ve been blessed with for our lifetime

Blogs I’m Nominating (in no particular order):

Throwback At Trapper Creek – self sufficiency, farming, food, family and photography, relatively nearby in Oregon.  The blog I go to when I need answers.

Kimberley’s Kitchen – my talented cousin, an increasingly famous confectionista, we inherited similar values regarding food and family.

Greening of Gavin –  A fellow ex-sailor Down Under blogs about his family’s journey to reduce their carbon footprint.  Veg garden, chooks, soap, cheese, beer, solar panels, rainwater collection and tons more.

Polyface Hen House – 7 women who work or live at Polyface Farm (home of Joel Salatin), each blog a different day.

For the Love of the Soil – young organic farmers on PEI, with small kids and busy lives.  Farming, family, politics, and roller derby.

Morning Joy Farm – young farming family in North Dakota, pigs, turkeys, chickens, cattle. Plus kids, education, food politics, recipes.

Chism Heritage Farm – farming to heal the land, raising great kids, working full time off farm, and blogging to share the learning curve.  This is the guy who convinced me to start a blog.

To Sing with Goats – a young woman with incredible energy and a lot of plans.  Goats, cows, chickens, turkeys and recently sheep.

6512 and Growing – they live at 6512 feet above sea level in Colorado.  Wonderful writing style about family, food, home schooling, and more.

Little.Farm.Growing – also Colorado, this mom/farmer/teacher/writer chronicles their efforts to grow their farm despite droughts, floods, grasshoppers and too many plates in the air at once. Great sense of humour.

High Heels in the Barnyard – wife of a former Polyface apprentice blogs about their Salatin style farming methods, music, food events, micro-brew, and how this city chick is growing into her life on the farm.

The Wild Ramp – a local farmers market in Huntington WV, lots of great posts on food issues in general, as well as farmer profiles in the local area, recipes and more.

9 thoughts on “Reader Appreciation Award

  1. wildramp says:

    Thank you for including us. As I scrolled through your list I ended up subscribing to many! Yikes, my morning read is growing. LOL

    • You’re welcome!
      I found some of these through each other if you know what I mean :)…for example, Gavin and Throwback used to both blog in a writers co-op, I followed one to the co-op and found the other there. It was hard to narrow my choices down actually, as there are quite a number that I check in on regularly, but I think these are the ones that I really engage in, comment, etc. Others that I read regularly include: Ben Hewitt, Kristin Kimball, Contrary Farmer, Cold Antler Farm, Sugar Mountain Farm, Beginning Farmer.

  2. Thanks for the nomination. I know I need to blog more but…well…there’s a lot going on. It’s about to get worse too. Fortunately the pigs ship on Tuesday and the chickens are in the freezer. Oh, and some contractors installed the wood cook stove (something I just couldn’t get to myself). I also don’t have time to read things I enjoy…like your blog. Please don’t think I’ve forgotten about you!

    • You’re welcome! I don’t know which is a busier season on the farm – late spring with planting, birthing, brooding, or autumn with harvesting, processing, etc. or maybe summer with heat issues, weeding, fence moving. For farming blogs, I figure no posts means things are busy. That’s how it is for me, anyhow.

      • I’m not sure either. I’m anxious for the winter season of planning, reading and being lazy under a pile of blankets. But by Mid-January I’ll be looking forward to chicks again and looking for warm days to try planting a row of peas. There are challenges all year but seasonal production keeps me from getting bored.

  3. df says:

    Thank you so much for the kind words here! I’m so glad that we’ve been having the chance to ‘get to know each other’ through our blogs, and I’m very excited to check out the reads on your list that are new to me.

  4. Gavin Webber says:

    Thanks so much for the nomination Dawn. I appreciate it you salty sea dog 😉

    Gav x

  5. […] been following a Canadian blog for a few months now –Sailors Small Farm. I’ve mentioned them before here because of content that was meaningful to something going on […]

Leave a Reply

