Help a food community

I live on the West Coast of Canada.  I buy my produce and meat in two on farm shops locally, and at the farmers market during the summer.  While I do buy some things direct from the farmer, like a side of pork occasionally, for the most part, I appreciate the convenience offered by the market and the two farm shops.  Each of the shops sells primarily their own produce, but will sell other products on consignment from other growers.  It’s a win for everyone that way.

Through the blogosphere, I’ve “met” many other farmers, food producers, and local food advocates.  One such is the blogwriter for the Wildramp Market, way the other side of the continent from me, in Huntington, West Virginia.

Why would a small market out in WV be interesting to anyone outside that area?  Because we’re all on common ground.  Local, sustainably produced food, available and accessible to everyone – isn’t that the goal of so many of us in the business of local food?

Wildramp Market is a great model with a ton of potential for duplication.  The market is run by volunteers, and product is supplied by local farmers and food producers – it can and does change from week to week with the seasons.  There’s a lot of heart and soul, time and energy going into that little market, and success is snowballing.

To that end, they’ve entered into a fundraising challenge, hoping to be able to develop some needed infrastructure (like a cooler).  They’re in the last few days of their fundraising effort, and only need about $300 to meet their modest goal.  They’re not asking for millions.  Just a few dollars here and there from people who want local food to be in the shopping baskets of the average consumer.  If, like me, you’re one of those people, check out the link below, and read Wildramp’s story in their own eloquent words.  I donated a few dollars a couple of weeks ago, and have watched the balance of pledges growing steadily every since.  Go check out the link.  Kick in a few bucks.  Help the cause of local food.

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/wildramp/ramp-up-the-wild-ramp-a-local-food-market/posts

4 thoughts on “Help a food community

  1. wildramp says:

    Thank you so much for sharing the word with your readership! I am so lucky to be involved with the Wild Ramp Market…it has made so many changes for us and I will continue to do all I can to help it grow and be a viable business here in this region.

    • Maybe because of your location in the old train station, I had “I think I can, I think I can” running through my head when I was thinking of you all this morning. You’ll have to write a post about the little engine that could when you reach your goal 🙂

      • Jennifer says:

        I am happy to report that our goal has been reached! Thank you so much for drawing attention to the project. I am proud to be a part of this market!

  2. Katharine says:

    I’m a board member for The Wild Ramp, and I have to say that your post left tears in my eyes. We *are* all on common ground, and it matters so much to us that people all the way across the continent believe in us and what we’re doing. The success of our little local food market has been thrilling to watch, and the gratitude of our customers and farmers makes every volunteer hour worth it! THANKS for believing in us and supporting us!

Leave a Reply

