My “To Do” lists

When I first started this blog, I stated that one of my reasons for blogging would be to help keep myself accountable to my goals.  So in the spirit of that, here is…

LIST #1:

  • hack blackberries behind little chicken house, then around heat pump.
  • process last 4 broilers (we held back some runts, we’ll do them for our own consumption)
  • build new broiler pen
  • clean out layers brooder pen
  • prep bed for fall veggie planting
  • weed garden
  • canning and freezing
  • cut back the worst parts of the front hedge
  • all the usual house stuff

Why I’m not getting far with List #1:

I have been in denial about the increasing discomfort I’ve been experiencing from plantar fasciitis in my right foot. I’ve been putting up with it for about 2 months.  At first, I felt like I had it under control – there are some exercises I was taught last year when I had a bad bout of it in my left foot, and for a while I thought they were helping.  I bought a new pair of shoes to wear at work (I’m on my feet all day there), and I thought for sure that would be the end of it.  Nope.  It flared up in the other foot as well.

Suddenly, I find myself thinking ahead throughout every phase of the day – how long will I be able to do whatever job I’m considering before it hurts too much?  I have delegated dog walking to the kids (I love walking the dog).  I have started putting my feet up in the afternoon, to rest them – with a book in hand – I thought I was onto something, but it’s just depressing with so much to be done outside.  I find myself dreading getting out of bed in the morning, knowing I have to put weight on my feet when I stand up (they feel fine when I’m lying down).  I’ve started to get a glimpse of what it might be like to be elderly and living with chronic pain.  I do not want to jump the gun on that phase, thank you.  I’m starting to get grumpy.

Maybe you’ve heard this phrase:  “Mama ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy!”.  Something has to change, and it better be me.  I’m telling you, you need your feet for farming.  It is not an armchair sport.  So…

LIST #2:

  • book appointment with physiotherapist – Done – seeing him next week
  • start losing some weight – in progress
  • get serious about the foot exercises – they are NOT lame (haha) – ok, ok, I’ll do them

I’ve put it in writing here, and shared it with all of you.  I have to admit, there’s nothing like a little pain to motivate me to change my ways, but I have been known to procrastinate once or twice :), so I’m counting on some moral support if it looks like I’m not working my way through List #1 or dog walking pretty soon.  Deal?

6 thoughts on “My “To Do” lists

  1. Jan says:

    Try and be patient as it will get better. I suffered with this horrible, painful and frustrating condition for over twelve months. At times I was in tears with the pain but my doctor had warned me that it would take 12 – 18 months to heal. So I listened to my body and I found that if I sat a little, worked a little and walked a little I could complete most of my jobs in the garden and the kitchen. It’s hard to try and lose weight when it’s too painful to walk as exercise so I took to a bike. Combined with the arthritis in my ankles and knees it was a nightmare (I am 60 so older than you) but I am so happy to report that my foot is well again and I no longer take the medication for pain. So please believe that it will heal, just not as fast as you would like.

    Take care of yourself.

    Jan

    • 12 months??????
      Other than that, I really appreciate your supportive comments. I cannot imagine dealing with this and arthritis simultaneously. I’m only a decade behind you by the way. My bike is due back from it’s servicing tomorrow, as I realized it might be a way to get some exercise and strengthen my calf muscles while giving my feet a break. Thanks so much for commenting. Dawn

  2. Annie Carlson says:

    I had a bout of PF earlier this spring/summer. It felt like I was stepping on a nail! I did my exercises and in about 3 months, it was better. But man, there certainly was no quick fix!!!

Leave a Reply

