Versatile Blogger Award

A while or so back, two kind blogging friends nominated me for the Versatile Blogger award – independently, bless them, which felt like the honour it is.  The deal with awards like this is that you’re supposed to pass on the favour – it’s a way of giving others an “attaboy/girl”, and at the same time highlighting some blogs that you enjoy that others might not yet have found.

The thing is, I’m not in a super bloggy sort of mood these days, and so the rules of the award made it seem too daunting to bother with.  So I didn’t.  But now I’ve decided that in the interest of tying up loose ends before the end of the year, I should really share some blogs/sites that I find interesting.  Nothing like leaving it to the last minute.  At least one of my regular readers is already in 2014, thanks to being in Japan!

So, the two bloggers who nominated me, and whose blogs are delightful, well written and diverse in subject matter, are: Dark Creek Farm and Wuppenif.  Go check them out.  And thank you so much, ladies; your creativity and energy inspire me.

I haven’t gone back to the nomination posts to see what I’m supposed to do next, but it’s probably something like tell you 7 interesting things you might not already know about me.  I don’t feel terribly interesting these days, but here’s a few:

- I work in a library.  I love my job.  And you should know that public libraries are not “shush” zones anymore.  They are noisy, bright, chattery places, a place to connect with your community, and yes, a place to borrow books, movies, music and downloadables.

- I grew up speaking with an English accent even though I was born and raised in Canada.  For all of my childhood and early adulthood, I was “bilingual” in that I used “English” with my family, and “Canadian” with everyone else.  My brother, six years younger, just spoke Canadian, though he says my name in English even now.  I don’t speak “English” anymore, as our grandparents and parents are all gone now.

- I became horse mad at the young age of 5 (I lived in a city at the time).  I started riding lessons when I was 8 (almost the minute we moved to the farm), got a pony for Christmas (tied under the apple tree outside, in the snow – yes, it was an amazing Christmas) when I was 9, fell off said pony a week later and spent a few days recovering from concussion in hospital, and a month off school convalescing.  Didn’t get back on that pony till June, but rode her and two subsequent ponies/horses daily from then till university.  And have barely ridden since.

- I went to boarding school at age 15. There were good and bad things about those 3 years, but  suffice to say, I would not consider private school for our own daughters, even if we could have afforded it.

-I have a BA in Anthropology.  I have never had occasion to use it, except on my resume.  And I suppose you could say the study of mankind was handy in surviving a very male dominated work environment in the Navy.  Kidding.

- I threw up in Paradise.  Really.  Digby scallops disagreed with me, and Paradise is a tiny hamlet just up the road from Digby, Nova Scotia.  I upchucked behind the church.  I think I was 20.

- I asked for the Cat Stevens version of “Morning Has Broken” to be played at our wedding.  Still my all time favourite.  Maybe I’ll ask for it to be played at my funeral.  I can still play it on the piano (more or less), having first learned it in when I was a teenager. A long time ago.

The other half of this award is to share some interesting blogs with you.  These are mostly not on my blogroll, and different from the list of blogs I shared last year for another award.  I don’t visit all of these regularly, but when the mood strikes.  These span food, farming, permaculture, TEOWAWKI, child raising and more.  I like them for different reasons – sometimes the writing style, sometimes the photography, sometimes the subject matter.  In no particular order then:

Ben Hewitt
Contrary Farmer
Owd Fred (Countryman)
Deliberate Agrarian
Le Petit Canard Farm
Surviving the Suburbs
Casaubon’s Book
Essex Farm
Sugar Mountain Farm
Milkwood
Taranaki Farm

All the best for 2014 to everyone.

11 thoughts on “Versatile Blogger Award

  1. I have also been struggling with blogging of late – you’d think with such short days there’d be plenty of time…. And very interesting little tidbits about yourself – I especially enjoyed the one about using your “English” and “Canadian” accents!
    Thanks for adding me to your list – I feel honored (honoured) to be mentioned, as well as to be in the company of so many amazing bloggers. I guess I better get blogging but, oh the pressure to be witty, clever and interesting is going to be quite the challenge or my holiday-addled brain.
    Happy New Year!

    • Happy New Year. It’s ridiculous, isn’t it…feeling guilt about not keeping up with a journal, which is essentially what my blog is meant to be. I am not even aiming for witty or clever – just getting words out…
      I’m having computer issues, too, so resorting to using the girl’s computer, which won’t allow me to download pictures off my camera, which is also impacting my enthusiasm for blogging.
      And there’s nothing really going on farmwise unless you count the mound of paperwork built up in front of my non-functioning computer. I could take a picture, but I wouldn’t be able to post it.
      You and your hubby both have great writing styles, and I know there are others out there who will enjoy watching your progress this year as you start to equip that new barn and develop your moat :), as the mud disappears….

  2. Ah yes, the moat and the mud. now there’s something to blog about….
    Hope your computer issues get sorted out – not being able to post pics would make it even harder for me to get motivated to blog. Every picture tells a story, don’t it? (are you singing along with me?)

  3. df says:

    Oh, I am glad that you decided to tie up this particular loose end, as I so enjoyed reading your random facts about yourself! Your horse years really struck me; isn’t it funny how we have multiple lives within the one life that we lead? To look back and realize you spent so many years riding and passionate about doing so, but now you don’t – well, life is just like that, isn’t it. They are delightful creatures; I haven’t ridden in years, but went through a riding spell (shorter than yours) and have fond memories. Throwing up in Paradise has got to be one of the best throw away lines ever! (Though I doubt it was a fun experience to add to your repertoire!). As you know, I’m thoroughly envious of you and my son working in libraries – you are lucky people. I’m so glad that libraries feel as though they are continuing to thrive too. I was really dismayed when I saw the film Frank & Robot nearly a year ago, which featured the demise of the local library – did you see it?
    I do hope that you get your computer woes resolved and continue blogging, as I do so love reading your posts and about your little corner of the world. Happy 2014!

    • Happy New year to you and yours as well. I know exactly how luck we are with our library jobs, believe me. I haven’t seen Frank & Robot (though the library has it!) – I don’t watch many movies, and I had no idea it involved a library, even. I don’t believe libraries will disappear, but I do believe they will not be like they are now, and they are already not what they were 50 years ago. I heard someone from the CLA recently liken the evolution of libraries to that of automobiles. Horseless carriages were just that – they looked remarkably like horse drawn carriages but had motors. The people who owned them would not recognize the vehicles we drive today. What will personal transportation look like 50 years from now? It is unimaginable for us at this stage in the changing technology. Consider that ereaders currently present ebooks looking much like books, you even flip the pages. Everyone right now thinks library and visualizes bookshelves with books on them, maybe funky children’s areas, and a row or two of public internet terminals. We’re in that place of huge change though, with robots coming in to check in and sort returning material, whole sections of larger libraries being bookless, and the space being used instead for device hook up or networking or group interconnection. Some libraries in Europe have spaces for creating music recordings, rooms with big iBoards, etc. Public libraries are looking toward becoming community resource places, both social and educational, for entertainment and enrichment. The most successful branches are connected to rec centres or community centres, and this gives a hint as to what our role will be in decades to come. Books will still be there, but probably not handled so much by people like me or your son – instead they will come out of a thing like a vending machine. That technology is already in use, it will spread fast. I don’t intend to talk much about my job on the blog, so this is likely as much as I’ll say for now about that. It’s exciting, though I have to hustle my brain to adapt to all the change.

      • df says:

        Frank & Robot is a good little movie, a nice piece on the nature of memory, so if you have time I recommend it. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on the future of libraries, I appreciate you taking the time particularly when it’s not what you want to blog about. I think your analogy with the car is spot on, and it’s just something that will happen reasonably organically.

  4. If you aren’t tired of hearing me say it, we’re big on goals around our house. One of the 2014 goals is horsemanship with the kids. They have already graduated to cleaning the stall for one of dad’s horses. You can imagine their enthusiasm.

    But the kids are also taking over much of the garden this year so the horse manure will be put to good use.

    • I’m in big goal setting mode myself just now, so no I’m not tired of hearing someone else talking about it.

      That decade of horse ownership was a huge life lesson for me that was worth every penny. I might argue that 4-H kids get a similar lesson when they’re raising sheep, pigs, cattle for projects, but I think the length of the time commitment with a horse makes a difference – it’s not a project you’re going to sell at the end of the summer, thereby gilding your bank account and earning a break from chores. Nope. Owning a horse is a 24/7/365 proposition. I also think it’s something not to be taken on lightly – if a kid is not passionate about horses, there is no point starting down that road. You probably have a great opportunity with your Dad close by with horses like that to test the waters. Especially since horses just eat money, they don’t earn it.

      I was head over heels passionate about horses from age 5 to 19. Without that passion, I would not have got back on board after that month of convalescence. I remained nervous for years, but loved the bond with my pony so much that I fought to succeed in spite of my fear. Something that taught me a lot about life.

  5. Eumaeus says:

    I love librarians. I always wonder how they’re judging my selections. Sometimes they say stuff and that is always a big thrill. I saw a 3D printer demo at our city library when i was checking stuff out the other week. Cool.

    thanks for the song too. may every morning break like the first morning for you in 2014 and on..
    And i wanted to say it yesterday but thanks for being with me then in 2013. Peace and love

    • We don’t judge patrons reading selections at all, of course :). At least, we’re not supposed to. The fact is, we’re all reader too, quirky ones at that. Don’t want anyone judging my reading choice du jour, that’s for sure.
      We had a 3D printer demo go round our branches in the fall as well. Way cool. It suddenly gave me a glimpse of the possibilities of the world my children will be adults in.
      You’ve got an interesting year ahead of you – big trip, eating from your land, just putting one foot in front of the other. Looking forward to reading about it now and then. Happy 2014.

Leave a Reply

