Fall Fungi

It seems to be a peak moment in the fungi world, perhaps due to our mild, damp, cool weather just now. Every morning, when I’m out with the dog around sunrise, I am astounded at the variety of mushrooms, toadstools, and other organisms of that ilk that I encounter. I never remember to take my camera with me┬áthat early, but fortunately, I was out on the field the other day to put the pasture pens to one side and get them ready for winter, and almost stepped on yet another mushroom I’d never seen. I went back to get my camera and spent a happy hour delaying the work of the afternoon while I traipsed all over the 14 acres looking for elusive mushrooms that seem ubiquitous at dawn, but bashful in mid-afternoon. I don’t know the names or types of any of them, but here’s what I found:

The one picture with no fungi evident is just to show how different the grass is where the broilers were on the field, just a month ago.

8 thoughts on “Fall Fungi

  1. Broilers certainly leave their mark. No mushrooms here. Dad reminded me of an elderly neighbor who called this area the little Sahara. It’s not uncommon to be bone dry from July 1 through December 1. Rains all around us but we somehow get missed. So…no mushrooms here.

  2. Interesting about your little Sahara. Just south of us (like 2 km south) is an area that the scientists call a “rain shadow” area – the clouds bump against the mountains west of there and dump before they get to the rain shadow, which gets inches less rain than us every year. I have never seen such a variety of mushrooms before. There were puffballs too, but I couldn’t see them when I had the camera.

  3. df says:

    Great photos! I love those small little toadstools, so sweet, and the shaded layering of the tree fungi is always so artistic. What are the yellow ones? We had a sudden profusion of white mushrooms on our lawn around the house this year, a first for us.

  4. I don’t have a clue what any of them are. We did get quite a few white mushrooms as well, but I couldn’t spot them when I had the camera in hand. Yes, the yellow ones are new to me. I’ve seen the orangey fat ones before, and they seem to proliferate near the pine trees on my neighbour’s fenceline most years. They’re full of little worms, too – yuck.

  5. Bill says:

    They’re popping up all over the place here too. We’re even getting a few more shiitakes.
    I really wish I knew how to identify wild mushrooms. Thinkingcowgirl left a comment on my blog recently saying that in France you can take wild mushrooms into a pharmacy and they’ll identify which are edible and which are inedible. It’s part of their pharmacist training. Wish it was that easy here.
    There is place nearby (meaning an hour and a half away) that offers classes, but we haven’t been able to make one yet.
    I missed your post last week about the pigs going to the processor. Ours leave on Monday. I’ll miss having them around, and it will be strange at first to have that chore gone. But like you I’m already looking forward to next year’s pigs. :)

    • That would be wonderful to have some resource at hand to identify mushrooms like that. It turns out that one of my husband’s clients is a local expert on edible wild food, so I may try and connect with him.

      • This has reinspired me to try to find someone local who can tell me what these crazy mushrooms are that are all over the place at the moment. Like you, I have no idea – and find it fascinating that the various free-ranging creatures I have here seem to have the good sense to leave some of them alone. How do they know which ones are safe to eat?

      • It’s true – the dog, who eats all sorts of disgusting things, be they animal, vegetable, mineral, seems to leave most of these alone. Same with the pigs – famed for truffle hunting, they ignored a patch of fungi in their paddock, that must have been giving off some sort of negative vibe.

Leave a Reply

